On the Great Biographical Narratives of 2030


Michael Weinreb is the author of The Kings of New York. Two or three years ago, I made a New Year’s resolution to get into chess. It didn’t take, but I did read and enjoy that book. He has a blog and I stumbled across this article there.

Certain athletes of this era seem representative of some larger issue, of an evolutionary or technological or societal tipping point. And it’s not always the obvious people. So yes, in ten or twenty years, there are many excellent biographies I expect to read (or write) that might capture the Zeitgeist of the early 21st century. But here are the underdogs–if I were forced to sign a contract right now to write a biography in 2030 of an active athlete/coach who isn’t Tiger Woods, LeBron James, or Kobe Bryant, these are some of the people I might choose:

Click the link above for more. I was at war in 1990, so I wasn’t reading the sports page much. What was the biggest story back then? Buster Douglas upsetting Mike Tyson? The Nasty Boys?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

