Is It Time To Retire The Football Helmet?


Slate pointed me towards this Wall Street Journal article from a year ago. It’s something that I have thought of before. I don’t think it was an original thought, I may have picked it up in one of the various cybersalons I hang out in. It’s ironic, that safety equipment such as a football helmet makes a sport more dangerous. I think gloves make boxing more dangerous, too. But the freak I am was enthralled by this little snippet:

Robert Cade, who is better known as an inventor of Gatorade, created a shock-absorbing helmet that was used by a number of NFL players in the 1970s.

I want to read up more about Cade. He sounds like a possible connector that I could write about.

1 Comment

Filed under football, pigskin

One response to “Is It Time To Retire The Football Helmet?

  1. Pingback: Goodbye to the Football Helmet? « daynperry.com

Leave a Reply

