Bears and Wolves and Federalists


I was hoping to see New Britain play Portland this afternoon, but it rained. Instead of a trip report, I’ll subject you to a few disjointed thoughts I’ve been having recently.

As I got older, I forgot a lot of the science I learned as a kid. Over the past few years, I’ve started reeducating myself a bit. I’ve read Simon Singh and James Burke. I like to watch Nature on PBS on Sundays when I can. This is the episode that got me hooked. I think quite a bit about sports, not the day in day out soap opera so much. But I am interested in what teams to do that makes them win. I read an accidental trilogy of football books recently. ( And Residual Prolixity discusses them better than I could.) And there’s this post by Larry Granillo about baseball 100 years ago. I blame Malcolm Gladwell for this. He may be a lightweight, but I dug this article about David vs Goliath strategies. Am I a stathead? Perhaps, but I’m not hardcore. But I’m a dyed-in-the-wool strathead. There’s an inner game theorist inside of me

But sports is pretend conflict. Game theory is more relevant when it comes to war. I read most of this booka couple of years ago. Hattaway reminds me of Bill James in some respects. Anyways, I sometimes wonder if there is a way to apply all of this type of stuff to battles between predator and prey.

In my last post, I mentioned the Battle of Stoningron. There was a lot of stuff going on in Long Island Sound and Connecticut during the War of 1812. The government of Connecticut was ambivalent, at best, about the war. Okay that’s an understatement. There was secession talk. There were other big changes in the state around that time. It wasn’t until after the war that Congregationalism was no longer the state religion. Eli Terry mass produced the first mass produced clocks. I’m still having trouble fathoming how that changed the world, but most people didn’t know what time it was before that. Now we do. And it created a more industrialized, market-based economy. Without clocks people wouldn’t know when to go to work or school. Also, the history of peddling intrigues me. That’s how the clocks were sold around the country.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

